Dancing With a Beetle

I had this really nice underground apartment for about eighteen months. I remember it fondly. There was almost nothing in the apartment because all I did was work. No tables or chairs. The computer was on the floor the whole time. I must have had a television and a VCR because I remember watching movies there. One night while I was watching The Omega Man I saw something out of the corner of my eye and turned to see a beetle appear from the corner as if from offstage, do a dance, then go back into the corner. It was a clean apartment and I probably didn’t see another bug the entire time I was there so I took it as a sign that this beetle did this on purpose. I wrote the poem immediately.

Dancing With a Beetle

I saw her
Making her way
Across the fouled
Carpet, resisted
My first impulse
To crush
And began to dance.
She stopped dead
Inches in front
Of my deadly foot
And began to wiggle
Side to side
On all those legs.
A very beetly dance.
Then she headed off
To the corner
To feast and I
Came over and
Wrote down this poem.

 

 

 

 

About Zombie Logic

I am an Outsider Poet and the Publisher of Zombie Logic Press.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

