In Ur

I’ve spent a lot of time and effort this year on my blog at Zombie Logic. It’s been a challenge and I’m very proud of the content Jenny and I have generated there. Somewhere along the line I got it in my head that “just” poetry wasn’t enough to entertain a reader. That there needs to be some graphic, some video, a funny picture to make sure readers don’t tune out. So for the rest of December I’m going to concentrate more on “just” poetry. This is a small poem I wrote after reading the poems Richard Wilbur had written for children. And in the main I find Wilbur’s work for adults too dry and impenetrable, but when he wrote for children he was funny and smart. And it inspired this little piece. 

 

Surely Only the Misapplication of Awkward Titles Can
Keep My Poems Out of The Academy

In the Kingdom of Ur
When a newborn presented,
With poetic inclinations
The King was contacted
And filled the cradle with asps
To keep the newborn poet warm
A fact depicted by the scribes
In cuneiform.

 

I promise I’ll spruce up this blog more in the future. But for now…

About Zombie Logic

I am an Outsider Poet and the Publisher of Zombie Logic Press.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

